Welcome to Rainbow Dragon Academy
 
HomeCalendarFAQSearchMemberlistUsergroupsRegisterLog in
Top posters
The Real Lever10
 
Ab9999
 
Asuya Youkai
 
Kagatsuchi
 
SiegWar
 
Tvbeast
 
Mr.Alexio
 
Muh1
 
Aichi Sendou
 
(Aurora) Swampert
 
Latest topics
» I Have Returned!!
by SoulSilver Fri Sep 22, 2017 9:17 pm

» Yo its Swampert
by The Real Lever10 Fri Apr 21, 2017 12:57 am

» My final goodbye
by (Aurora) DarkFlair1 Wed Dec 28, 2016 9:32 pm

» Hello.....
by ZerotheSSj. Mon Dec 21, 2015 6:01 am

» Ramsiel's GFX Shop
by ZerotheSSj. Fri Jun 12, 2015 5:10 am

» so what's the next CoTW gonna be XDXDXDXD lool
by ZerotheSSj. Fri Jun 12, 2015 5:06 am

» got bored ;-;
by ZerotheSSj. Fri Jun 12, 2015 5:06 am

» Its been a while...
by Oliver1212 Thu Jan 22, 2015 5:34 pm

» day 187 ;-;
by GAJEEL Wed Jan 07, 2015 5:34 pm

» I'm Back!!!
by ZerotheSSj. Sun Nov 30, 2014 6:50 am

» merging request
by bayar16 Wed Nov 05, 2014 4:42 am

» i guess im leaving to :(
by Bayar14 Sat Nov 01, 2014 6:04 pm

Affiliations
free forum

free forum

free forum

Similar topics

Share | 
 

 General Lesson 5 - Common Confusions in Card Effects

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
The Real Lever10
Admin
Admin
avatar

Posts : 1206
Join date : 2013-07-18
Age : 20
Location : Ordon Village

PostSubject: General Lesson 5 - Common Confusions in Card Effects   Sat Aug 24, 2013 2:59 pm

Any card effect that says "once per turn" cam sometimes get a bit confusing. That is in cards like synchro monsters and older cards, once per turn meant during either players turn. Now on a card like an xyz monster, once per turn means only during your turn unless it says during either player's turn. An effect like Shooting Quasar Dragon can be used once during either players turn, but an effect worded the same way that is newer, such as Number 50: Blackship of Corn, can only be used on your turn. If I am wrong about this and it actually has something to do with detaching for whatever reason, please let me know.

Now I want to talk about skill drain. Before I do that I want to review the card effects that can be negated. Any card effect with a colon or a semicolon means it can be chained to and/or negated. If that card lacks either of these in it's effect, then it can not be negated or chained to. Thus an effect veiler would not stop those effects.

Skill drain is an odd card. It negates the effects of all monster on the field. It is a continuous effect as well. This means it gives weird exceptions. There is a set skill drain and a monster with a continuous effect about to be summoned. If skill drain is activated BEFORE the monster is summoned, then the continuous effects are negated. Its like the description of the card has absolutely nothing on it. HOWEVER if the monster is summoned before skill drain is activated, then the monster keeps all continuous effects but loses trigger effects. The only effect to work is a cost that removes it from the field (a cost is represented by a semicolon).

Number 39: Utopia is just one example. Utopia's effect is a spell speed 1. Thus it can not chain itself to a card like mirror force, or anything for that matter.

With an effect that moves a monster from the field to another place, different card effect negations work differently. Fiendish chains only works while the monster is face-up on the field, whereas effect veiler and breakthrough skill work on that one monster until a specific time comes. For an effect like rescue rabbit, monster effects that have a cost of moving them from the field to another place (a cost is represented by a semicolon) fiendish chains will not work because the monster has to be on the field and a cost can not be negated. Effect veiler and breakthrough skill will though due to the fact it does not require the monster to be on the field.



If you can think of any other common mistakes and why that is, then explain how they work to everyone. You can get 20 CS each for up to 40 in this lesson.

_________________




Back to top Go down
View user profile http://rainbowdragonacademy.forumotion.com
Asuya Youkai
Moderator
Moderator
avatar

Posts : 365
Join date : 2013-07-26
Age : 22
Location : The Dark Carnival

PostSubject: Re: General Lesson 5 - Common Confusions in Card Effects   Sat Aug 24, 2013 5:38 pm

There's a very common mistake I see with cards like Wind-Up Zenmaines and people using Bottomless Trap Hole. Example: Player A uses the effect of Rescue Rabbit to get out two Giant Soldier of Stone, then overlays them to get out Wind-Up Zenmaines. Player B activates Bottomless Trap Hole, and Player A banishes Zenmaines, not knowing his effect still works. Zenmaines can activate his effect when Bottomless is activated for two reasons: Firstly, Bottomless destroys the monster before banishing it, as it says in the text, so commonly people will see that as a sort of loophole. Second, because Bottomless is a card that activates in the Summon Reaction Window, and not in the Summon Negation Window, Zenmaines was properly summoned, and can chain his effect onto Bottomless, due to his effect being a Quick Effect of sorts.
Another mistake people make, (Heheh, that rhymed) is when a player activates a card such as Dark Hole or Heavy Storm, then the other player chains Starlight Road and gets out Stardust. Later on in the duel, the player with Stardust uses his effect, and brings him back from the grave at the End Phase, which is incorrect. Because Stardust wasn't "Properly" synchro summoned, and was brought out due a trap card first, Stardust is not able to be summoned back from the grave, and this goes for any Synchro monster. If Player A attempts to Synchro summon, and Player B uses Solemn Warning; because Solemn Warning is a card that activates in the Summon Negation Window, that Synchro monster is destroyed, and is not considered PROPERLY synchro summoned, and so trying to bring them back from the graveyard is impossible, due to ruling.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
The Real Lever10
Admin
Admin
avatar

Posts : 1206
Join date : 2013-07-18
Age : 20
Location : Ordon Village

PostSubject: Re: General Lesson 5 - Common Confusions in Card Effects   Sat Aug 24, 2013 9:18 pm

Great examples and spot on tyou! 40 CS rewarded to you. I would like to add on to the zenmaines thing by saying its effect would not work when its summon is being negated by solemn warning or a similar card due to it never technicaally being on the field

_________________




Back to top Go down
View user profile http://rainbowdragonacademy.forumotion.com
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: General Lesson 5 - Common Confusions in Card Effects   

Back to top Go down
 
General Lesson 5 - Common Confusions in Card Effects
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Slifer Class #1: Mandatory Card Effects
» Lesson 18: Spell/Trap Effects [Activate and Spell Speed]
» In Search of Water Effects Advice
» A General Thought Re: Poetry
» Musicals in general

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Rainbow Dragon Academy :: Classroom-
Jump to:  
ChatBox